Creek Capitol

Erected 1878, Ward Coachman, Principal Chief, Creek Nation organized 1867 under written constitution, and Okmulgee named as capital. Noted Chiefs here included Samuel Checote, Joseph Perryman, Isparhecher, Pleasant Porter. "Okmulgee Constitution" written here in Inter-Tribal Council, 1870, intended for organization of all Indian Territory.

106 West 6th Street, Okmulgee, Oklahoma. Located behind the old Creek Council House.

Exploring Oklahoma History