Beaver County

Beaver County is located in northwestern Oklahoma in the Oklahoma Panhandle. It borders the states of Texas to the south and Kansas to the north. The county was formed at statehood in 1907 from Seventh County, Oklahoma Territory, and was named after the many beavers dams found along the Beaver River that flows through the area. The town of Beaver, Oklahoma is the county seat, the county's largest community, and is known as the cow chip throwing capital of the world. The town is located in the central part of the county on U.S. Highway 270 and the Beaver River. Other notable towns include Forgan in the northern, Gate and Knowles in the eastern, and Turpin in the western parts of the county. The county is also known for Beaver Dunes Park (formerly Beaver Dunes State Park) located just north of Beaver, Oklahoma.